ONE HUNDRED FOURTEENTH CONGRESS

Congress of the United States House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE 2125 RAYBURN HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, DC 20515-6115

> Majority (202) 225-2927 Minority (202) 225-3641

MEMORANDUM

July 22, 2015

To: Committee on Energy and Commerce Democratic Members and Staff

Fr: Committee on Energy and Commerce Democratic Staff

Re: Subcommittee on Health Markup of four health bills

On Thursday, July 23, 2015, at 10:00 a.m. in room 2123 of the Rayburn House Office Building, the Subcommittee on Health will hold a markup of the following four bills: (1) *H.R.* 1344, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Act; (2) *H.R.* 1462, Protecting Our Infants Act; (3) *H.R.* 1725, National All Schedules Prescription Electronic Reporting Reauthorization Act; and (4) H.R. 2820, Stem Cell Therapeutic and Research Reauthorization Act of 2015.

The Subcommittee held a legislative hearing on H.R. 1725 on January 27, 2015. The Subcommittee held a legislative hearing on H.R. 1344, H.R. 1462, and H.R. 2820 on June 25, 2015. Legislative hearing memoranda prepared previously on these bills are attached.

All of the bills are bipartisan measures. There may be manager's amendments introduced for each bill to make minor and technical changes.

I. H.R. 1344, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Act

Representatives Lois Capps (D-CA) and Brett Guthrie (R-KY) introduced H.R. 1344, the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Act, on March 10, 2015. The bill would reauthorize the EHDI Program at \$10.8 million for each of fiscal years 2017 through 2022. Under the legislation, the program's focus would expand to include young children and strengthen efforts to prevent infants and young children from being loss to follow-up. EHDI Program grants supporting state EHDI programs would be used for technical assistance, data management, and applied research.

II. H.R. 1462, Protecting Our Infants Act

Representatives Katherine Clark (D-MA) and Steve Stivers (R-OH) introduced H.R. 1462, Protecting Our Infants Act, on March 19, 2015. The bill would require the Secretary of

the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), acting through the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), to develop recommendations for preventing and treating prenatal opioid abuse and Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome (NAS). The bill would also require HHS to develop a strategy to coordinate its efforts and to close gaps in research and programming, as recommended by GAO. Finally, it would require the CDC to assist states in collecting public health data relative to prenatal opioid abuse and NAS.

III. H.R. 1725, National All Schedules Prescription Electronic Reporting Reauthorization Act

Representatives Ed Whitfield (R-KY), Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), and Joseph Kennedy III (D-MA) introduced H.R. 1725, National All Schedules Prescription Electronic Reporting Reauthorization Act (NASPER). The NASPER Reauthorization Act would reauthorize the federal grant program that supports state prescription drug monitoring programs (PDMP) that was first authorized in 2005, and is administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The program would be reauthorized at \$10 million for each of fiscal years 2016 through 2020. Among other provisions, the NASPER Reauthorization Act seeks to strengthen the interoperability of SAMHSA-supported PDMPs.

IV. H.R. 2820, Stem Cell Therapeutic and Research Reauthorization Act of 2015

Representatives Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Doris Matsui (D-CA) introduced H.R. 2820, Stem Cell Therapeutic and Research Reauthorization Act of 2015, on June 18, 2015. The bill would reauthorize existing programs that help individuals in need of bone marrow transplants find matching bone marrow donors or cord blood units. The bill would reauthorize the C.W. Bill Young Cell Transplantation Program at \$30 million for each of fiscal years 2016 through 2020. The bill would reauthorize the National Cord Blood Inventory (NCBI) at \$23 million for each of fiscal years 2016 through 2020.