Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

E&C Announces Subcommittee Markup of Communications and Technology Bills

Jun 13, 2022
Press Release

Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) and Communications and Technology Subcommittee Chairman Mike Doyle (D-PA) announced today that the Communications and Technology Subcommittee will hold a markup on Wednesday, June 15, at 10:15 a.m. (EDT) in the John D. Dingell Room, 2123 of the Rayburn House Office Building.

“Next week, the Subcommittee will mark up seven bipartisan bills that together will strengthen our communications networks, help keep people safe in times of emergency and distress, and promote innovation,” Pallone and Doyle said. 

“Among the legislation, we’ll be reviewing a bill that requires mobile service providers to protect survivors of domestic violence, human trafficking, and other related crimes from their abusers when they share mobile service contracts. The Subcommittee will also mark up legislation to ensure that the important service affordability programs so many people rely on for connectivity can continue without disruption and are more transparent.  

“We also look forward to discussing legislation that extends the authority of the Federal Communications Commission to auction spectrum so that the agency can continue this critical work. In addition, we’ll review a range of bills that, together, would improve the capabilities of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration to oversee federal use of our nation’s airwaves and promote wireless network innovation.”

The Subcommittee will consider the following bills:

H.R. 4275, the “Ensuring Phone and Internet Access for SNAP Recipients Act of 2021,” which was introduced by Reps. Elaine Luria (D-VA) and John Katko (R-NY).

H.R. 4990, the “ITS Codification Act,” which was introduced by Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA).

H.R. 5400, the “Preventing Disruptions to Universal Service Funds Act,” which was introduced by Reps. Jahana Hayes (D-CT) and Marc Veasey (D-TX).

H.R. 5486, the “SMART Act,” which was introduced by Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY).

H.R. 7132, the “Safe Connections Act of 2022,” which was introduced by Reps. Ann Kuster (D-NH) and Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA).

H.R. 7624, the “Spectrum Innovation Act of 2022,” which was introduced by Chairman Doyle and Communications and Technology Subcommittee Ranking Member Bob Latta (R-OH).

H.R. 7783, the “Extending America’s Spectrum Auction Leadership Act of 2022,” which was introduced by Reps. Sharice Davids (D-KS), John Joyce (R-PA), Peter Welch (D-VT), and Bill Johnson (R-OH).

This will be a hybrid markup that includes both in person and remote member attendance via Cisco Webex video conferencing. Members of the public may view the markup via live webcast accessible on the Energy and Commerce Committee’s website. Please note the webcast will not be available until the markup begins.

The Committee strongly recommends that members of the media view the proceedings remotely. The Capitol and House Office Buildings currently have restricted access. Seating in the Committee room for credentialed media is very limited. Media must RSVP to their respective press gallery no later than 5 p.m. on Tuesday, June 14.

House Radio/TV Gallery:


House Periodical Gallery:


House Daily Press Gallery:


Photographer Gallery:


Information for this markup, including the Committee Memorandum, electronic copies of the legislation and any amendments, and a link to the live webcast will be posted HERE as they become available.