Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Pallone Announces Subcommittee Staff Leadership for E&C Committee Democrats in 118th Congress

Jan 3, 2023
Press Release

Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) today announced the Committee staff that will lead the six subcommittees in the 118th Congress.

“At the Energy and Commerce Committee, we pride ourselves on conducting most of our work in our subcommittees, and I am pleased to announce the senior staff that will lead them in the new Congress,” Pallone said. “These individuals bring a tremendous amount of experience and expertise to the Committee. It will be invaluable as we fight to lower costs for American families, bolster our economy, combat the climate crisis, and protect consumers.”

Pallone announced the following staff will lead the subcommittees and serve under Democratic Staff Director Tiffany Guarascio.

Jennifer Epperson will serve as Chief Counsel of the Communications and Technology Subcommittee. For the past three years, Epperson has served as Counsel and then Senior Counsel on the Communications and Technology Subcommittee. At the Committee, she was instrumental in expanding access to highspeed internet service and making broadband more affordable. Prior to joining the staff in January 2020, she served as a Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Detailee on the Committee. She also spent four years at the FCC as the Assistant Bureau Chief and Deputy Division Chief at the Enforcement Bureau. Epperson began her career in North Carolina state government. 

Lisa Hone will serve as Chief Counsel of the Consumer Protection and Commerce Subcommittee. Hone joins the Committee after recently departing the National Economic Council and the Office of Management and Budget where she worked as a Senior Advisor on Broadband. Hone also spent 12 years at the FCC as a Deputy Bureau Chief, Legal Advisor to then-Chairman Tom Wheeler, and a Deputy Division Chief. She also spent 13 years at the Federal Trade Commission’s Bureau of Consumer Protection as the Assistant Director and Staff Attorney of the Division of Marketing Practices where she litigated cases and supervised attorneys and investigators conducting consumer protection investigations.            

Tuley Wright will serve as Staff Director of the Energy Subcommittee. Wright joined the Committee in 2016 as an Energy and Environment Policy Advisor and then served as Senior Energy and Environment Policy Advisor in 2021. He played a key role for the Committee on the Inflation Reduction Act and its critical investments in clean energy, the electric grid, and energy efficiency. Prior to joining the Committee, Wright spent ten years in Pallone’s personal office, working his way up to Legislative Director.

Caitlin Haberman will serve as Staff Director of the Environment and Climate Change Subcommittee. Haberman, who joined the Committee in 2008, most recently served as Senior Professional Staff Member for the Environment and Climate Change Subcommittee where she crafted many of the climate provisions included in the Inflation Reduction Act. Prior to that, she served seven years as a Professional Staff Member on environmental issues, Policy Analyst, and Staff Assistant.    

Una Lee will continue to serve as Chief Counsel of the Health Subcommittee. Lee has served as Chief Counsel since 2019 where she led the Committee’s efforts to reduce prescription drug costs for seniors, end surprise billing, make health care more affordable, and contain the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Lee first joined the Committee in 2015 as Chief Counsel for the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee where she focused on health. She became Senior Counsel for the Health Subcommittee in 2017. Prior to joining the Committee, Lee worked for the Oversight and Government Reform Committee and former Rep. Jane Harman (D-CA).    

Will McAuliffe will serve as Chief Counsel of the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee. McAuliffe joined the Committee in 2021 as a Counsel on the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee, where he worked on several investigations including the approval process and pricing of Aduhelm, the high price of insulin, and the implementation of cybersecurity measures at federal agencies within the Committee’s jurisdiction. He previously spent five years as an Associate at Covington & Burling LLP and three years as a Litigation Associate at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP where he worked on congressional investigations and complex litigation.